Free transactional email API plans compared (2026)

Every free tier for sending app email, as each provider's own pricing page states it: how much it sends, what it caps, whether it receives, and the first paid step.

Published by
MarkRelay Research
Updated
Sources
9 primary sources, linked below

Summary

The largest free transactional tiers are Resend (3,000 emails a month, 100 a day) and Brevo (300 a day, about 9,000 a month); then SMTP2GO (1,000 a month), MailerSend (500 a month), Mailgun (100 a day, one domain) and Postmark (100 a month). SendGrid has no ongoing free plan, only a 60-day trial at 100 a day. Cloudflare Email Sending is free only to your own verified addresses, and $5 a month for 3,000 emails to anyone, with receiving through Email Routing free and unlimited. MarkRelay runs on Cloudflare and adds mailboxes, an HTTP API and signed webhooks for $99 a year.

Key findings

  1. 1Most free email a month: Resend 3,000 (max 100 a day) and Brevo 300 a day.
  2. 2Smallest free tiers: Postmark 100 a month and MailerSend 500 a month.
  3. 3SendGrid's only free option is a 60-day trial at 100 emails a day.
  4. 4Receiving differs most: Resend counts received mail toward the sending quota, Mailgun's free plan has one inbound route, and Cloudflare Email Routing receives free and unlimited.
  5. 5Cheapest first paid steps: Cloudflare $5 for 3,000, MailerSend Hobby $7 for 5,000, Brevo Starter $9 for 5,000, SMTP2GO $10 for 10,000.

Questions this report answers

Asked by real people, quoted as they wrote them.

“Sendgrid Free Email API plan deprecated for a paid ones. Alternatives?”

r/selfhosted, 39 comments

The table below lists every ongoing free tier we checked. For most small apps, Resend or Brevo cover the volume; Cloudflare is the cheapest paid step if your domain is already there.

“free transactional email service”

Google and Bing search suggestion

Resend (3,000 a month), Brevo (300 a day), SMTP2GO (1,000 a month), MailerSend (500), Mailgun (100 a day) and Postmark (100 a month) all have ongoing free plans.

“Best transactional email service for Next.js apps”

r/nextjs, 53 comments

Any of these work from a Next.js server route over HTTP. Resend publishes React Email and official SDKs; if the app also receives mail, compare how each counts inbound messages.

“cheapest email api”

Google and Bing search suggestion

Per email at volume, Amazon SES at $0.10 per 1,000. For a small fixed bill, Cloudflare Email Sending at $5 a month with 3,000 included, then $0.35 per 1,000.

Free plans for app email

Resend

Free sending
3,000/month
Limits
100/day, 3 domains, 1 webhook
Receiving
Counts toward quota
First paid step
$20, 50,000

Brevo

Free sending
300/day
Limits
After account approval
Receiving
Not stated
First paid step
$9, 5,000

SMTP2GO

Free sending
1,000/month
Limits
Sign-up on a private domain
Receiving
Not stated
First paid step
$10, 10,000

MailerSend

Free sending
500/month
Limits
1 domain, 100 API requests/day
Receiving
Not stated
First paid step
$7, 5,000

Mailgun

Free sending
100/day
Limits
1 domain, 1-day logs
Receiving
1 inbound route
First paid step
$15, 10,000

Postmark

Free sending
100/month
Limits
No overage
Receiving
Not stated
First paid step
$15, 10,000

SendGrid

Free sending
100/day
Limits
60-day trial only
Receiving
Not stated
First paid step
$19.95/month

Cloudflare

Free sending
Verified addresses only
Limits
Domain on Cloudflare DNS
Receiving
Email Routing, free, unlimited
First paid step
$5, 3,000

Not stated means the provider's own page does not say. Source: Resend, Brevo, SMTP2GO, MailerSend, Mailgun, Postmark, SendGrid, Cloudflare.

Monthly cost once you outgrow free

10,000

Resend
$20
Brevo Starter
$17
SMTP2GO
$10
Amazon SES
$1
Cloudflare
$7.45
MarkRelay
$15.70

50,000

Resend
$20
Brevo Starter
$56
SMTP2GO
$50
Amazon SES
$5
Cloudflare
$21.45
MarkRelay
$29.70

100,000

Resend
$35
Brevo Starter
$82
SMTP2GO
$75
Amazon SES
$10
Cloudflare
$38.95
MarkRelay
$47.20

Monthly billing on the cheapest plan that covers the volume. SES is the à-la-carte rate without attachment data. MarkRelay is Cloudflare plus the $99 license spread over twelve months, with receiving and mailboxes included. Source: Amazon SES pricing.

Pick by the shape of your mail

Steady low volume, such as sign-up confirmations, fits a daily cap like Brevo's 300. Bursty mail, such as a launch or a password-reset wave, fits a monthly allowance, though Resend's 100-a-day cap still applies. If the app also receives mail, check how inbound is counted before you compare totals.

Where MarkRelay fits

A good fit when

  • Your domain is on Cloudflare and the app should send and receive in your own account, with receiving free.
  • Mailboxes your team can open next to the API, and many domains without per-domain fees.

Look elsewhere when

  • A hosted relay with nothing to deploy, or a dedicated IP and sending SLA.
  • Very high volume where Amazon SES's per-email price matters most.

Common questions

Which transactional email API has the biggest free plan?

Resend at 3,000 emails a month (max 100 a day), then Brevo at 300 a day.

Does SendGrid still have a free plan?

Its pricing page lists a 60-day free trial at 100 emails a day, then Essentials from $19.95 a month.

Sources and method

  1. Resend pricing (resend.com/pricing)
  2. Brevo pricing (www.brevo.com/pricing/)
  3. SMTP2GO pricing (www.smtp2go.com/pricing/)
  4. MailerSend pricing (www.mailersend.com/pricing)
  5. Mailgun pricing (www.mailgun.com/pricing/)
  6. Postmark pricing (postmarkapp.com/pricing)
  7. SendGrid pricing (www.twilio.com/en-us/products/email-api/pricing)
  8. Amazon SES pricing (aws.amazon.com/ses/pricing/)
  9. Cloudflare Email Service pricing (developers.cloudflare.com/email-service/platform/pricing/)

Facts are taken from each vendor's own pricing pages, documentation or terms as of the updated date above; prices are in US dollars per month unless stated. Cost comparisons apply each vendor's published rates to the same volume. MarkRelay is not affiliated with the providers covered here;MarkRelay sells a self-hosted email app, which this page mentions where it fits. Spotted something outdated? Tell us.

Revisions

  • : First published; every fact checked on the vendor's own pages.

Related guides

More research